your host for the evening

This photo is only a year and a half old– an infant, if you will– but when I look at it now, it seems like it’s from a very long time ago… like 3 years or more. That’s me the first time I featured at a Busboys and Poets open mic– on the tiny stage in the old Cullen Room at 5th and K Streets, before it was expanded.

Lo and behold, this summer I’ll start hosting the open mic once a month at that location— every third Wednesday of the month, beginning on August 17th.

To get things going, I’ll be hosting on July 6th and I’ve already lined up a feature I’m tres excited about… the Beltway Poetry Slam team! Chris August, Twain Dooley, Joseph LMS Green, and Drew Law are sure to inspire as they’re ramping up to head to the National Poetry Slam in August.

Cheers!

One thought on “your host for the evening

Leave a Reply

