poetry on avenues and across oceans

It may only be May but it feels like summer here in DC. To me, summer means entering my seventh year of living in the district without A/C. It also means getting out (literally and figuratively), trying new things, and exploring new ground. So I was particularly excited when I was invited to curate a poetry showcase next weekend. It’s my first time curating an artistic event outside of my beloved BloomBars community and it has also introduced me to a neighborhood I hadn’t yet appreciated.

From June 3rd through 5th, a three-day arts showcase will be held at The Blank Space SE in Anacostia. Arts on the Avenue will feature the work of six visual artists, a guided walking tour of the neighborhood, a discussion on art collection, and a poetry showcase. Check out the weekend’s featured artists and schedule of events here.

I’m looking forward to meeting more artists, connecting with more like-minded people, and hosting an event that features some of my favorite poets– Joseph LMS, Marie Elaine, Jonathan B. Tucker, Jenny Lares, and Derrick Weston Brown.

In other poetry news, this morning other DC poets and I held a Poetry Across Borders session at BloomBars and used the wonderful world of technology (i.e. Skype) to share our work with poets in Bangalore, India! You can read about it here.

Finally, no post about poetry (or music or artistic revolution) would be complete without paying my respects to the legend Gil Scott-Heron, who passed away this weekend. If you’re not familiar with his work and legacy, you can learn more about him here.

Come celebrate the power of the spoken word with us on Saturday– hope to see you there!

2 thoughts on “poetry on avenues and across oceans

  1. this is a message for Gowri, Hi how are you doing??It was lovely to meet you and also to listen to your poems when you read them at the Church 2 weeks ago before the Alif’s concert.I am really fond of Tagore’s poetry as well , so as an artist myself I try to expand his words into my Art, so, I am making some embroideries using Saris and needle work placing his words on the Saris. I would like to invite you and your friends for my upcoming show , which will be tomorrow, Friday 3rd, at the Hillyer Art Space in Dupont Circle, right behind the Phillips Collection on 21st Street NW, they also held a night of poetry there if you don’t know, so , it will be great to see you and also you can talk to the director about your poetry and what you’ve been doing lately. The show opening is 6 pm till 9 pm, See you there . Peace. Namaskar.

Leave a Reply

