april showers

I guess, technically, these showers started in March but I’m quite happy to be featured in two noteworthy DC publications within the past week.

Last Sunday, The Washington Post Style section featured me (as well as BloomBars and a couple of friends) in an article by Lonnae O’Neal Parker called “Art is to these locals like the air they breathe — an irrepressible part of their lives.” Lonnae visited Poetry in the Morning earlier in the month (and had a lovely time, if I do say so myself).

Photo by Juana Arias (Washington Post)

Of course, not everything we discussed made it into the article so I just want to give shout outs to Sulu DC and Subcontinental Drift, two phenomenal arts organizations in DC (and the great folks who gave me the opportunities to perform at places like the Kennedy Center and Smithsonian Folklife Festival).

Jumping right into National Poetry Month, Beltway Poetry Quarterly is featuring four of my poems in its April issue!

Speaking of poetry, April is also known as National Poetry Writing Month (or NaPoWriMo). Join me and other local poets in the challenge to write a poem a day for 30 days!

Leave a Reply

